Free Organic Produce – Woo Hoo!

Heh heh.

Ok, so my brain translates this ad as such – FREE PRODUCE!

fpweorg-produce

If you can’t read the out of focus print (sorry, you wouldn’t believe I’m a pro photographer too)…

This says, “Enjoy a bountiful selection of USDA-certified organic fruits and vegetables in Produce.  If you don’t find our produce completely fresh, ripe and delicious, we’ll refund your money – and replace your produce FREE.” Now first, I MUST give kudos for ad dollars going towards the promotion of nutrient rich FRESH PRODUCE instead of  low-nutrient processed foods.  But…

Guys, Do you know how PICKY I am?  Do you know how RELATIVE “Fresh, ripe AND delicious” can be?

Of course, maybe if you’ve always bought your produce at Safeway, Vons, Dominicks, Genuardi’s,  Randalls, Tom Thumb, Pavillions, Carrs/Safeway, you have different standards to begin with.  To be fair, I can’t say I’ve shopped at all of these stores but if they are anything like Safeways I’ve encountered, anything would be better than the prematurely picked, tasteless produce I seem to find there.  I’d have taken back 1/3 of the produce I’ve bought there if they’d run this ad 5 years ago.

Now, you may say I’m just lucky or privileged, but on the contrary I just make it a priority in life to live near fresh local produce.  And, I sacrifice buying new clothes, furniture and recent model cars so that I can spend my modest income on healthy food instead.   As well, I collect berries off bushes around my neighborhood to make jam in August, and forage for local plums that would otherwise fall to the ground, uneaten.  I’m pretty thrifty.

So folks, if you’re on a tight budget like me and you know good produce, TAKE AVANTAGE OF THIS PRODUCE GUARANTEE.      AND If you’ve only ever had super market produce, I highly urge you to head to your farmer’s market ASAP and raise your own bar for fresh produce flavor expectation (also take note of produce cost at your farmer’s market – it’s usually cheaper, picked in season, and infinitely more flavorful !)

If you do go to take advantage of this offer – look for the sign below.  And let us know what the store manager says when you take back your half eaten banana or winter tomato.

pickmefpwe

Leave a comment